Illinois Employment Law Updates in 2024
Blog

Illinois Employment Law Updates in 2024

Brief Introduction of 2024 Illinois Labor Law Updates:

Each Employer must need to post the employment law posters to stay in the labor poster compliance. Below is the summary of new Illinois employment law updates in 2024.

Labor Laws2024 UpdatesEffective date
Illinois Minimum wage/Hour (FLSA)$14.00 HourJanuary 01, 2024
$8.40/Hour for Tipped Employee
Paid Leaves (PLAWA)40 Hours of Paid leave for each 12-month periodJanuary 01, 2024
VESSA (Victims Economic Security and Safety Act)Employer can take up to 12 weeks of unpaid leave who are victim of violence or has a family member who is victim of violence.January 01, 2024

 

Illinois Minimum Wage Increment:

Illinois state has set a new minimum wage requirement which is effective from January 01,2024. You can find more information regarding new Illinois minimum wage law on here: https://labor.illinois.gov/laws-rules/fls/minimum-wage-law.html

Below is the brief summary of new minimum wage requirements.

Exempt WorkersMinimum wage requirement
Employees who is 18 and elder$14.00/Hour
New Hired Employees for first 90 days$13.50/Hour
Youth worker (Who’s age is below 18) and working more than 650 hours annually$12.00/Hour
Tipped Employees$8.40/Hour

 

State of Illinois also has new minimum wage requirement of $15.00/Hour for the workers and $9.00/Hour for Tipped workers which will be effective from January 01,2025.

Chicago has the different minimum wage requirement which is $15.80/Hour and it depends upon the number of employees. The employer who has 21 or more employees should pay $15.80/Hour and who has between 4-20 employees should pay $15.00/hour. City of Chicago is trying to update the minimum wage of tipped workers which might will be in action by July 2028. Tipped worker in Chicago right now is getting $9.48/Hour if they are working for the employer who has more than 21 workers. The employer who has less than 21 employee or 4-20 employees should at least pay $9.00/Hour.

Below is the history of Minimum wage increment in the state of Illinois for last 10 year. This can help the employers to analyze the past wage increment trends and predict the future changes.

YearWageYearWage
2013$8.252019$8.25
2014$8.252020$10.00
2015$8.252021$11.00
2016$8.252022$12.00
2017$8.252023$13.00
2018$8.252024$14.00

 

Paid Leave All Workers Act (PLAWA): 

Each employee is allowed to earn up to forty (40) hours of paid leave for each year they work as per Paid Leave All Workers Act (PLAWA). Employee has right to utilize and take paid leave for any purpose and they may not require to provide the cause or reason for it. Employee must earn at least one (1) hour of paid leave after forty (40) hours work or employers may also provide forty (40) hours of leaves at the start of the new year. Employee does not need to find any replacement worker when they are not available during their paid leave. There is also an option for worker to decide when to use the paid leave like before or after using any other leaves. Employer must have paid leave request system or policy so that workers could submit the request via oral or written method whichever will be in compliance with the policy. You can find more detailed information on Paid Leave here: https://labor.illinois.gov/laws-rules/paidleave.html

Exemptions:

County paid leave law might be differed and does not follow the state paid leave law which is effective from January 01, 2024.

There might be some other exemptions depending on the policy of business. Some workers are considered as an exempt employee under Federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) who is most likely salaried and does not get paid for overtime until or unless they work for more than forty (40) hours. These exempt employees under FLSA act are assumed to be working forty (40) hours per work week unless they are part time workers or their regular work hours per week are less then forty (40) hours. In this situations, exempt employee paid leave is dependent on the hours they work or assumed to be working in regular work week.

VESSA (Victims Economic Security and Safety Act):

Employees are allowed to take up to twelve (12) weeks of unpaid leave during each year of employment who or his/her family member is the victim of domestic violence, gender violence, sexual violence or crime. These paid leaves intend to support them to seek medical assistance, legal advice, counseling and any other required help.

The worker who is victim of this violence or crime is protected under this law. As per this law, employers are prohibited to discriminate this This Act also protect the employees and prohibit discrimination against the workers who are victim of such violence or crimes.

The length of leave is dependent of the size of the employer’s organization. If the employer has 50 employees, they should provide 12 weeks of leave, if they have 15-49 employees, employees should get at least 8 weeks of leaves, and with 1-14 employees, employees can get 4 weeks of leave during 12 months of period under the VESSA Act.

Employer must be get notified before 48 hours whenever possible. If not, employee should inform employer whenever it would be practical. There might be some documentation required as per the employer policy which can include but not limited to court, police or military record, death certification or burial for the victim.

You can find more detail information regarding VESSA Act: https://labor.illinois.gov/laws-rules/conmed/vessa.html

Conclusion:

All employers should be ready to adopt the labor law changes and update their policy accordingly. They should also update the labor law posters which should be already placed at the locations where the information can be easily accessible to employees.

Human resources employee and other employers owning businesses should be keeping an eye for updates in labor law changes. Although, all new labor law updates do not require updating the labor law posters; some law changes trigger the need of new labor law poster.

You can place the order of updated Illinois labor law poster. It is also easier sometime; not to track all the updates and receive the new labor law poster automatically when there is mandatory update in state labor law. You can enroll for the program at Best Labor Law Posters to get this flexibility.